Back to the Bookshelf!

Reviews of books, movies, and more

On Books: Kindle vs Ink-and-Paper

I stumbled upon this quote from the New York Times today. It was from an article on what gadgets to keep or toss:

BOOKS Keep them (with one exception). Yes, e-readers are amazing, and yes, they will probably become a more dominant reading platform over time, but consider this about a book: It has a terrific, high-resolution display. It is pretty durable; you could get it a little wet and all would not be lost. It has tremendous battery life. It is often inexpensive enough that, if you misplaced it, you would not be too upset. You can even borrow them free at sites called libraries.

Source: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/24/technology/personaltech/24basics.html?_r=3

Last Christmas, I received a Kindle as a generous gift from relatives. I love it to death – cheaper books are available instantly, it’s lightweight, it’s got lots of storage, and I can download free classics that are often hard to find. Highlighting quotes is wonderful, and so is searching for words and phrases. It’s also nice to be able to look up words instantly instead of going to dictionary.com. Most importantly… it’s the most convenient thing in the world to use to read while I eat, which I do rather frequently 🙂

And yet…I still love good old ink and paper books as well. In fact, even though I don’t get to keep them, there’s a special place in my heart for library books. I love the crackle the plastic-wrapped cover makes when I open it for the first time, especially if it’s a newer book. They’re more durable, too, so I don’t have to worry so much about damaging them when I toss them in my backpack. In general, there’s also something special about holding the weight of bound paper in my hands, and flipping the pages rather than pressing a button. Somehow, it’s more satisfying to see where my bookmark is in a hefty novel rather than watch the percentage bar at the bottom of the screen go by.

So I think what I’m trying to say is…I’ll happily take books in either form. They’ve both got their pros and cons. I’m embracing the technology of the future, but I’m still hanging on to the format that has served readaholics so well for centuries, and hopefully for many more.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

 

One comment on “On Books: Kindle vs Ink-and-Paper

  1. sapphy03
    December 25, 2011

    I hate technology for taking away the ink and paper!
    http://topratedjuicers.net/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2011 by in Books, Kindle, Point of View and tagged , , , .
