Back to the Bookshelf!

Reviews of books, movies, and more

Famous First Lines of Novels

Hello! It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. Things have been rather busy for me lately, but hopefully I’ll have some new reviews soon. In a departure from my previous posts, I plan to review two movies and a short story collection. Should be fun!

In the meantime, here’s a fascinating post on different first lines of famous novels.

http://www.darcypattison.com/revision/opening-lines/

I love the opening lines of Pride and Prejudice and I Capture the Castle, which are great books, but nothing beats the opener to my favorite Narnia book:

“There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.”

~The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

Enjoy!

2 comments on “Famous First Lines of Novels

  1. theotherwatson
    January 11, 2012

    Funnily enough I posted something similar the other day (only not as many first lines). My favourite opener has always been the beginning of The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe by Douglas Adams: “In the beginning the universe was created. This has made a lot of people angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”

  2. backtothebookshelf
    January 11, 2012

    My brother adores Hitchhiker’s Guide 🙂 I wasn’t able to get into the first book for some reason…perhaps one day I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2012 by in Books, Classic, Writing and tagged , , , , , , .
