Back to the Bookshelf!

Reviews of books, movies, and more

Check This Out! (May 2013)

Hello! It feels like I’ve been absent a long time!

I’m going to break my hiatus with a shorter recommendation post. I might do these every once in a while as a way of doing quick reviews on a variety of things.

A book I’m reading: Part of the reason I haven’t done a book review in a while is because Les Misérables has been taking up most of my free reading time since January. I read the abridged version a year ago, but I can honestly say that the “real” book is totally worth it. I’m still wrapping my head around how long this book is, yet it’s totally worth it for the way it immerses you in the characters’ lives and surroundings. I’m reading the Isabelle Florence Hapgood translation on my Kindle, which means I’ve been highlighting the heck out of this book without shame.

A movie I’ve seen: I watched The Last of the Mohicans for the first time a few weeks ago. I’ve heard it hyped up my whole life since my family used to go on vacations in the Blue Ridge Mountains, where the movie was filmed. It’s an interesting historical drama with action, emotion, and some romance that fans of movies like Pirates of the Caribbean would enjoy. Daniel Day-Lewis delivers just like always, the cinematography is lovely, and I can’t stop listening to the soundtrack. If you’ve never seen it, I’d highly recommend giving it a watch while it’s still on Netflix Instant Stream and Amazon Prime.

A show I’m watching: I don’t really watch a lot of TV, but I’m passing the Sherlock hiatus with the help of CBS’s Elementary. Much has been made of Lucy Liu – an Asian-American actress – playing Watson, and it’s a fun twist on the classic duo. Jonny Lee Miller makes an excellent Holmes, delivering sarcasm, vulnerability, and everything in between with ease. I’m not typically a crime drama watcher, and some of the associated blood/gore in the show does put me off, but the funny and often touching friendship between Holmes and Watson has brought me back each week. I’m really looking forward to the season finale tomorrow. The whole season will likely be up on Netflix soon.

What I’m listening to:  I’m way behind the times with both of these, but Coldplay’s X & Y is lovely and Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard’s The Dark Knight soundtrack is epic.

Have comments or recommendations of your own? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by in Check This Out!, Les Miserables and tagged , , , , , , , .
