Back to the Bookshelf!

Reviews of books, movies, and more

goodreads stars & how i use them

I really like this breakdown because I think I use a similar approach in my ratings. Rating a book 3 stars is the norm for me unless I either loved or loathed it!

Work in Progress

I see a lot of things about reviewers on Goodreads who give reviews that are either 1 star or 5 stars, with little in-between, and whenever I read about reviewers like that, I always feel a little confused.

This is the exact opposite of how I rate books.

I like a nice bell curve.  Most of my reviews are 3 stars, because that’s an “average” rating.  Three stars means I liked the book… because, surprise!  I like to read, and I like books.  I like most things I read.  That’s normal right?  If I hated 50% of the things I read, I probably wouldn’t like to read so much.

It’s very rare that I absolutely HATE a book, and usually I can’t even say that I hated it.  Most of my 1-star reviews are for books that I couldn’t finish.  And sometimes even a favorite author will make that list (Stephen…

View original post 314 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
